Fairies

The grass is a tangled net—I think its trying to capture me.

Don’t go there, that’s where the fairies are.

They are trying to capture me.

The sky is going blacker, clouding my eyes. I rub at them but they mist over in this muggy heat, blurring the bushes and roots.

I run past a tree with sheep huddled under it. They stare at me.

They’ll make you dance for years on end, until the heels of your feet bleed.

Thunder cracks, and I tumble on a stone.

Over the hill now, and I see my home nestled in the small valley. I still don’t look behind me, but flail down the hill and clumsily tumble inside the front door.

Breathless, I shout: “I saw them!”

Leave a Reply

